Church of Agios Ioannis (Saint John) in Katirli

When people first settled, they were so few, so the church joined the parish of Agion Taxiarhon of Kuri Church of Kouri.
However, the residents of Katirli protested because they wanted their own church. On 29th of August, 1932, the memory of Saint John the Forerunner was celebrated. Finally, Agios Ioannis became a church with the approval of the Ministry of Education and Religious Affairs in November 1933. This church was demolished in 1994 and a larger one was built in its place.
The new church was founded in 1996 and opened its doors in 2001.

Contact

Deputy Mayor for Tourism Culture & International Relations

Komninon 60, 55132

Kalamaria, Thessaloniki

Tel: 2313 314 570, -577

email: tourismos@kalamaria.gr

Information

2021 Developed by MyCompany Projects. All rights reserved.